EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

Board of Education

Local control of education through elected school boards has its roots in American Colonial history. Through the years, communities have directed the education of their youth by annually electing school board members and approving budgets. The school board members, in turn, oversee the administration of school districts. In the 21st Century, Cooperstown Central School District continues this practice.

While school boards are small and local, they represent one of the most important commitments citizens can make to their community — overseeing the education of its youth. Elections to the Cooperstown Board of Education are held annually on the third Tuesday of May, alongside the district’s annual budget vote. Board meetings are typically on the third Wednesday of each month and are held in the Jr./Sr. High School Library Media Center.


Cooperstown Board of Education Members

Timothy Hayes, President; thayes@cooperstowncs.org
Term Ends: June 30, 2023

Marielle Ainsworth, Vice President; mainsworth@cooperstowncs.org
Term Ends: June 30, 2022

Denise Hollis; dhollis@cooperstowncs.org
Term Ends: June 30, 2024

Wendy Kiuber; wkiuber@cooperstowncs.org
Term Ends: June 30, 2022

Anthony J. Scalici; ajscalici@cooperstowncs.org
Term Ends: June 30, 2024

Matt Schuermann; mattschuermann@cooperstowncs.org
Term Ends: June 30, 2024

Gillian Spencer; gspencer@cooperstowncs.org
Term Ends: June 30, 2023


2021-22 Meeting Dates

All meetings are open to the public and are held in the Cooperstown Jr./Sr. High School Library Media Center unless otherwise indicated.

  • July 1, 6 p.m., Reorganizational Meeting
  • July 21, 6 p.m.
  • Aug. 4 6 p.m.
  • Aug. 18, 6 p.m.
  • Sept. 15, 6 p.m.
  • Oct. 20, 6 p.m.
  • Nov. 17, 6 p.m.
  • Dec. 15, 6:00 p.m.
  • Jan. 19, 6:00 p.m.
  • Feb. 16, 6:00 p.m.
  • Mar. 2, 6 p.m. Budget Workshop
  • Mar. 16, 6 p.m. Budget Workshop
  • Mar. 16, 6 p.m.
  • Apr. 20, 6 p.m.
  • May 18, 6 p.m.
  • May11, 6 pm Budget Hearing
  • May 17, Budget Vote & School Board Election
  • June 15, 6 p.m.

Meetings are also listed on the  district calendar page.