main content starts here

Board of Education

Local control of education through elected school boards has its roots in American Colonial history. Through the years, communities have directed the education of their youth by annually electing school board members and approving budgets. The school board members, in turn, oversee the administration of school districts. In the 21st Century, Cooperstown Central School District continues this practice.

While school boards are small and local, they represent one of the most important commitments citizens can make to their community — overseeing the education of its youth. Elections to the Cooperstown Board of Education are held annually on the third Tuesday of May, alongside the district’s annual budget vote. Board meetings are typically on the first and third Wednesday of each month and are held in the Jr./Sr. High School Library Media Center.


Cooperstown Board of Education Members

President, Marcy S. Birch; msbirch@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2021

Vice President, Mary B. Leonard; mbleonard@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2019

Marielle Ainsworth; mainsworth@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2019

Timothy Hayes; thayes@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2020

Anthony J. Scalici; ajscalici@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2021

Matt Schuermann; mattschuermann@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2021

Gillian Spencergspencer@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2020

 


2018-19 Meeting Dates

All meetings are open to the public and are held in the Cooperstown Jr./Sr. High School Library Media Center unless otherwise indicated.

  • July 3, 7 p.m., Reorganizational Meeting
  • July 11, 8 a.m.,  Board Advance to be Held at the Cooperstown Graduate Program Building.
  • Aug. 17 p.m.
  • Aug. 157 p.m.
  • Sept. 57 p.m.
  • Sept. 197 p.m.
  • Oct. 37 p.m.
  • Oct. 177 p.m.
  • Nov. 14, 7 p.m.
  • Dec. 195:30 p.m.
  • Jan. 16, 5:30 p.m.
  • Feb. 13, 5:30 p.m.
  • Mar. 67 p.m.
  • Mar. 207 p.m.
  • Apr. 10, 7 p.m.
  • May 8, 7 p.m.
  • May 21, 7 a.m.-8 p.m. (Budget Vote)
  • May 22, 7 p.m.
  • June 12, 7 p.m.

Meetings are also listed on the district calendar page.