Board of Education

Seven school board member are seen standing in the library.

Board members include from left to right, Gillian Spencer, Tim Hayes, Mary Bonderoff, Mary Leonard, Marcy Birch, Marielle Ainsworth and Anthony Scalici.

Local control of education through elected school boards has its roots in American Colonial history. Through the years, communities have directed the education of their youth by annually electing school board members and approving budgets. The school board members, in turn, oversee the administration of school districts. In the 21st Century, Cooperstown Central School District continues this practice.

While school boards are small and local, they represent one of the most important commitments citizens can make to their community — overseeing the education of its youth. Elections to the Cooperstown Board of Education are held annually on the third Tuesday of May, alongside the district’s annual budget vote. Board meetings are typically on the first and third Wednesday of each month and are held in the Jr./Sr. High School Library Media Center.

Contact All Members >>

 


Cooperstown Board of Education Members

President, Marcy S. Birch; msbirch@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2018

Vice President, Mary B. Leonard; mbleonard@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2019

Marielle Ainsworth; mainsworth@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2019

Mary Bonderoff; mbonderoff@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2018

Timothy Hayes; thayes@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2020

Anthony J. Scalici; ajscalici@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2018

Gillian Spencergspencer@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2020

 


2017-18 Meeting Dates

All meetings are open to the public and are held in the Cooperstown Jr./Sr. High School Library Media Center unless otherwise indicated.

  • July 5, 7 p.m.
  • July 12, 8 a.m.,  Board Retreat to be held at the Cooperstown Graduate Program building.
  • July 25, 8:30 a.m.,  Board Retreat to be held at the Cooperstown Graduate Program building.
  • Aug. 27 p.m.
  • Aug. 237 p.m.
  • Sept. 67 p.m.
  • Sept. 207 p.m.
  • Oct. 47 p.m.
  • Oct. 187 p.m.
  • Nov. 1, 7 p.m.
  • Nov. 29, 7 p.m.
  • Dec. 135:30 p.m.
  • Jan. 17, 5:30 p.m.
  • Feb. 14, 5:30 p.m.
  • Mar. 77 p.m.
  • Mar. 217 p.m.
  • Apr. 4, 7 p.m.
  • Apr. 18, 7 p.m.
  • May 2, 7 p.m.
  • May 16, 7 p.m. 
  • June 6, 7 p.m.
  • June 20, 7 p.m.

All meetings are also listed on the district calendar.