Board of Education

The current members of the Cooperstown Central School Board of Education pose for a group photo.

Local control of education through elected school boards has its roots in American Colonial history. Through the years, communities have directed the education of their youth by annually electing school board members and approving budgets. The school board members, in turn, oversee the administration of school districts. In the 21st Century, Cooperstown Central School District continues this practice.

While school boards are small and local, they represent one of the most important commitments citizens can make to their community — overseeing the education of its youth. Elections to the Cooperstown Board of Education are held annually on the third Tuesday of May, alongside the district’s annual budget vote. Board meetings are typically on the first and third Wednesday of each month and are held in the Jr./Sr. High School Library Media Center.

Contact All Members >>


Cooperstown Board of Education Members

President Theresa J. Russo; tjrusso@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2017

Vice President Mary B. Leonard; mbleonard@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2019

Marielle Ainsworth; mainsworth@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2019

Mary Bonderoff; mbonderoff@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2018

Marcy S. Birch; msbirch@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2018

Timothy Hayes; thayes@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2020

Anthony J. Scalici; ajscalici@cooperstowncs.org

Term Ends: June 30, 2018

Gillian Spencergspencer@cooperstowncs.org

Term Starts: July 1, 2017

Term Ends: June 30, 2020